The American political system has discouraged me for as long as I can remember.

The fact that we do not live in a Democracy is not news to me.

I was the kid with the nose ring, listening to Megadeth, Rage Against the Machine and NWA while everyone I knew was talking about how cool Bill Clinton was because he ate at McDonald’s and played the sax.

Now I’m the jerk who goes up to liberals, points to their Whole Foods bag and says

“Did you know that by shopping at Whole Foods you support a right wing agenda?”

I’m so over-informed that I would be regarded as crazy, if I didn’t know it was better to just keep my mouth shut in most cases.

My girlfriends would think I was awesome during the first few months, but gradually that would melt away and I would find myself cleaning up after the dogs with a Walmart bag.

“Where the hell did this Walmart bag come from?!” I’d say, genuinely confused.

Then a guilt laden confession would spew fourth, in which I found out that my girlfriend was never really a vegetarian and had actually been stopping at Chic Filet after work.

And there was also that time she went to Hobby Lobby.

And she occasionally drank Russian vodka, because it was cheaper.


I never wanted to make anyone feel bad.

I just didn’t want to contribute to something I didn’t believe in.

I didn’t want to make the world a worse place.

I can’t count the number of times we would be having a party and my liberal friends would ask

“Where is the recycling bin?”

And I would have to explain to them that the process of recycling was actually more damaging to the environment, in many cases, due to the trucks that pick up the recycling burning so many fossil fuels and the chemicals they use to break down the items were highly toxic, etc…

I watched their eyes glaze over.

They didn’t want to know this.

They just wanted to feel like they were a good person.

And here I was ruining that for them…

So I just started putting out a recycling bin at parties.

Now everyone can drink their micro-brew, smoke their American Heritage cigarettes and feel like a good liberal.

And that’s what’s important, right?

Portrait of young man with tattoos smoking cigarette

So what does any of this have to do with being “discouraged with the American political system”?

It’s all Bernie Sanders’ fault!

Before Bernie, I had given up on politicians.

I marched against gun violence, knowing completely that our march would DO NOTHING to stop gun violence.

I marched for immigration reform, knowing that nothing would come of it.

I marched against unjust war and the blood of the innocents kept right on flowing.

I marched for women’s reproductive rights and LBGT+ rights, year after year after year…

And surprise… gradually people’s minds changed.

I tried to remind myself that some things could be affected incrementally.

It was hard, but it was worth it.

My roommate would always say

“The arc of history is long, but it bends towards justice.”

And when I looked at the arc of history, I tried to believe that this was true.

Raise awareness…change minds…change policy.

I was political, but hated politicians.

They were obstacles to be overcome or occasionally they were pawns we could move to our ends, but rarely were they on our side.

They were only on their own side.


I knew about Bernie Sanders, Elizabeth Warren, Keith Ellison and a few others.

From time to time I would check in on them when I needed to be reminded that there were people in government fighting for our citizens.

I voted for Barack Obama and was excited that our country finally had a person of color in The White House.

I had intended to vote for Hillary Clinton so that women would finally be represented in our nation’s highest office.

I didn’t really think these people would make much of a difference in government, but the sociological ramifications were incredibly important to me.

I was a Democrat.

I was one of the good guys.

I voted for the black guy.

I was just like the people at my parties, throwing their PBR cans into the recycling bin.

I was delusional…

And I was enjoying my delusions.


I really have no one to blame but myself.

I did sign a petition asking Bernie Sanders to run for President.

I didn’t think he would actually do it.

I was so naive back then.

When Bernie said he was running I thought it would be exciting, but I was still going to be a good liberal and probably vote for the woman.

I thought Bernie would run and Hillary would run and loyal Democrats like me would have a tough choice to make, just like we did in 2008.

It was clear from the beginning that Sanders was a strong candidate.

He had passed more legislation.

He was a master at roll call amendments.

He was the king of veteran’s bills.

But Hillary had been my hero for a long time, due to the fact that she took on the insurance companies and tried to get universal healthcare passed.

Hillary was also amazing.

She was for LBGT+ rights.

She was pro-choice.

She was obviously pro-universal healthcare (that changed after the insurance companies donated millions of dollars to her campaign).

Democrats were awesome and I was one of them!!

I was blissfully ignorant, just trying to make up my mind which amazing Democrat to vote for when my friend sent me a text.


“I notice you post a lot of pro-Hillary stuff. As an ally, how do you feel about the idea that Hillary only shifted her stance on gay rights, now that it is political suicide for her not to?”

I was so ignorant.

I replied

“Hasn’t she always been for gay rights?”

My friend started sending me links and videos.

After about 20 minutes, my head was swimming.

“How was this possible?!”

Hillary sounded like a Republican.

And it wasn’t just recent comments she had made before The Senate.

She had toured the country in support of DOMA.

How did I not know this?

I listened to NPR.

I took reusable bags with me to the grocery.

I was a hardcore liberal.

How did I not know this?!?!

Finally, I reconciled that, maybe she was late to the party, but at least she finally came.

She was still a woman and she was still a Democrat.

It’s not as if Bernie Sanders was any better, I reasoned, so I looked it up.

Oh…Bernie Sanders had always been for gay rights it seemed.

Bernie Sanders had opposed DOMA.

He declared a National Gay and Lesbian Day as Mayor of Burlington, VT in 1983.

He faced a lot of backlash for it.

He risked losing the reelection over his unpopular stance.

1983 was NOT a good time to be gay in America.

Reagan was laughing about AIDS and Harvey Milk had been murdered just a few years earlier.

No one was standing up for gay rights, but Bernie Sanders was.

Still, it was one issue, and Clinton was on board now.

Other things had to be weighed, before I made up my mind on who to vote for.


I continued to research…

The Iraq War, a war in which I organized protests against, Sanders had voted against it.


I reasoned that Clinton did as well.

Upon researching I found that she not only supported the war, but encouraged others to do so.

Later I found out that Clinton actually SOLD HER VOTE to George Bush for $20,000,000,000!!

My head was swimming again.

Half a million innocent people died in that “war”!!!

Isis was created out of that “war”!!!

Iraq didn’t have WMDs!!

I knew they didn’t have WMDs!!

Bernie Sanders knew they didn’t have WMDs!!

Hillary Clinton HAD TO KNOW that Iraq was not a threat to our national security and yet she sold her vote and influenced others to do so.

I felt nauseous.

How had I been so vocal in my support of someone who had knowingly and willingly murdered innocent people?

As I continued to dig, I found out more than I ever wanted to know.


So I have digressed…and now I have upset myself.

I can already hear the Hillary supporters getting angry and calling me a Republican (apparently anyone who disagrees with them is a Republican).

I get their hate-mail every single day.

What I don’t get is why they refuse to do the same research I did.

I’m not a Republican.

I had a Hillary Clinton bumper sticker on my Prius for God’s sake!!

This information is not top-secret.

It’s right there at everyone’s fingertips.

The fact of the matter is that Hillary Clinton has a history of genocide and plans for more!!

Read up on what Hillary did to Honduras and Haiti.

Read up on what Hillary did to Libya.

Educate yourself about her plans to “obliterate Iran“.

Read up on what Hillary plans to do to Syria.

Read up on Hillary Clinton’s ties to child labor in India.

Millions of innocent people have died.

If Clinton is President MILLIONS MORE WILL DIE!!

This is information that ANYONE can access, but there are millions of Americans who simply do not want to know what she has done or what she plans to do.

It is much easier for those people to insult other Democrats and call them Republicans rather than to educate themselves about why Clinton would be the second coming of George Bush.

Millions of lifetime Democrats are screaming from the rooftops, as our country is about to fall off a giant cliff and the Hillary voters are brazenly dismissing them.

If you are planning on supporting Clinton, ask yourself “what is in those Wall Street transcripts?”.

Why is she hiding them?

And why is she hiding classified emails from the FBI?

Look, I want a woman President too, but not this one.

We are all being duped by a Republican in disguise.


When a Hillary supporter finds out that I refuse to support Clinton in the general election, should it come to that, they always say the same thing.

They don’t talk about her policies.

They don’t talk about her good points.

They always say “Vote for Hillary or we will have President Trump.”

This is a sad and pathetic selling point for their candidate.

It makes it seem as if Hillary doesn’t have any good points.

My reply is usually…

“I am less afraid of Trump committing genocide than I am someone who has a history of committing genocide.”


Trump is an idiot.

He is a buffoon.

He is not even a serious candidate.

He can’t run a marriage.

He can’t run a business.

He sure as hell cannot run a country.

Trump is the result of a party that has preached hate and fear for so long that some carnival barker can come in and make a mockery of their entire party and still win their nomination.

Donald Trump is a punchline to an offensive joke.

But I refuse to vote for a genocidal maniac just because your ignorance allows you to believe that Hillary Clinton is somehow less dangerous than Donald Trump.

Clinton has a proven track record of mass murder.

You CANNOT expect millions of people who know that to vote for her.

You are asking them to be partisan to genocide.


And stop pretending that refusing to vote for Hillary is the same thing as voting for Trump.



It’s not the same thing.

Both of them are awful and a “choice” between the two of them is no choice at all.

Should the DNC choose to push Hillary Clinton on a nation of people who have twice now (remember 2008) told them that they will not vote for her, then THEY are in effect supporting Donald Trump.

Telling someone who they MUST vote for is fascist and anti-democratic.

I won’t vote for Hillary Clinton and millions of Democrats feel the same way.

I will vote for Jill Stein if the DNC forces their corrupt, corporate candidate on me.

We may not win, but we will send a message to the DNC that we are tired of their corruption.

Perhaps next time they will choose to listen to the voice of The People.

16 thoughts on “It’s All Bernie Sanders’ Fault!!

  1. This is so what I needed today!!! Do you have a link to share to Facebook? Thanks for your work and your words, Sue Boardman

    On Mon, May 9, 2016 at 1:47 PM, theindependentthinker2016 wrote:

    > The Independent Thinker posted: ” The American political system has > discouraged me for as long as I can remember. The fact that we do not live > in a Democracy is not news to me. I was the kid with the nose ring, > listening to Megadeth, Rage Against the Machine and NWA while everyone I > kn” >

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The embedded statement is that if the administration had done the right thing, or maybe if they had done nothing at all, Haiti, Honduras, Libya, they would be great. They’d be these shining states on the hill, safe and secure and prosperous, beacons of democracy and liberty and freedom.

    I just don’t see it that way.

    Gaddafi was slaughtering his own people. Unarmed civilians, just mowing them down, hundreds at a time. The administration decided that America cannot sit idly by and watch that happen. They took action.

    The world is a better place for Gaddafi’s absence.


  3. Thank you for your courage and your deep self reflection. Your words are powerful and clearly express
    what so many of us feel. It is scary to see how much fear and hatred underlines this election cycle. Add to that the ignorance perpetuated by the establishment media that attempts to herd the masses towards their “chosen one.” And all the while, there’s Bernie, issue focused, and tireless. His political revolution has already changed politics forever. He IS what America needs. Remember David does beat Goliath in the end. Keep feeling the bern!


  4. If only we could get Hillary’s supporters to open their minds, and laptops to finally see that we aren’t making this stuff up then we could take the country by storm! #ReleaseTheTranscripts #WhichHillary #DropOutHillary #DoYourOwnResearch


    1. Yeah, how do we go about doing that?

      It’s like they are actually proud of their ignorance.

      They remind me of Fox News Republicans.

      The majority of Hillary supporters are just people who don’t follow politics, but some of them are just proud to be ignorant and will do NOTHING to change it.


  5. I was always on the fence on whether Hillary was at least a better candidate than Trump. This article definitely made me question that. I think I would honestly rather have Trump than Hillary now. The prospect of a Clinton presidency is far more terrifying, and it would send a serious message to the DNC. Maybe a Trump presidency is the jolt the government needs to stop the two parties from constantly bickering with each other.

    You’re right. Hillary has a verifiable lengthy track record of incredibly shady shit that might actually dwarf the Donald.


    1. I agree, Robert.

      It’s like choosing between a punch in the face or a punch in the gut.

      I hate Trump, but at least he won fair and square.

      The voter suppression and election fraud coming from the Hillary camp is like nothing I have ever seen.

      Who would have thought that the Democrats would actually stoop lower than the GOP?


  6. People vote for who they wish regardless of what others say or think of a political candidate. If people wish to vote for Hillary, vote for her. If they wish to vote for Bernie, vote for him. If Trump or whoever, vote for them.

    There is no need to make negative statements about the candidates or their supporters. It’s ONE MAN, ONE VOTE, so to speak. Use your vote however you wish.


Leave a Reply

